To be able to use WhatsApp Business API on interakt, you will need to connect a valid number that can receive an OTP.
You may have quite a few questions about which number to use and whether an existing number can be provided or not.
In this article, we wish to answer these questions and help you get a better understanding of how you can connect your number with interakt.
Here’s what we will cover in this module:
• What number can I use on interakt?
• What to do if I want to use a number that’s already active on WhatsApp?
• Why is deletion required?
• What will deletion do?
• How do you delete your WhatsApp account?
• Once connected with interakt, can the same number be migrated to any other WhatsApp Business API provider?
• Unlocking unlimited messaging on interakt
• When it comes to selecting a number to be used for interakt, you can use any valid number that can receive an OTP via SMS or a voice call. This could be a virtual number or a regular SIM number.
• Do make sure that the number you allot is not linked to any existing account on WhatsApp. If it is, then the WhatsApp account linked to that number should be deleted. Read on to learn more about it.
• You may use an existing WhatsApp number - to register an existing WhatsApp number, you will first need to delete the WhatsApp account linked to that number.
• Simply put, before you go ahead with your current number, any existing WhatsApp account associated with this number must be deleted. Only then can you initiate the WhatsApp business API registration process. You can know more about how to delete your WhatsApp account here.
• It is required since you cannot reuse a phone number that has already been used for WhatsApp registration. If you try to add your existing phone number to the Facebook business manager, it will generate an error message saying - phone number is invalid.
• Here’s what happens when you delete your WhatsApp account:
- Your message history will be erased
- Your account will be deleted from WhatsApp
- You will no longer be a part of the WhatsApp groups that you were a member of
- Your Google Drive backup will be deleted
• Deleting your WhatsApp account is an irreversible process and you cannot gain access to your account thereafter. In order to prevent loss of data, we recommend that you take a backup of all your contacts and chats before you proceed with deleting your account.
You can follow these steps to delete your WhatsApp account:
1. Go on WhatsApp.
2. Tap on more options > Settings > Account > Delete my account.
3. Key in your phone number in full international format and tap DELETE MY ACCOUNT.
4. Choose a reason for why you're deleting your account in the dropdown.
5. Tap DELETE MY ACCOUNT.
• As per WhatsApp rules, once you’ve connected your number with a WhatsApp Business API provider (in this case interakt), you cannot downgrade your number to start using it on the WhatsApp Personal or Business apps. But, if you wish to switch the Business API provider and move out of interakt, you can definitely work with your new provider to perform the migration.
• After you sign-up and connect your WhatsApp business account and your WhatsApp business number with interakt, Facebook permits you to use WhatsApp messaging in a restricted way until your business verification is complete. This process would take anywhere between 3 business days to 4 weeks.
• During this time you will be able to receive an unlimited number of messages from your customers but there will be restrictions on the number of messages you can send out to them. You will be allowed to chat with only 10 unique users in a day. Know more about the messaging restrictions here.
• Hence please take note that if you expect high traffic to your number, you may still be unable to respond to all your users (depending on your messaging restrictions) until your business verification is complete from Facebook’s end.
• You can unlock unlimited messaging on interakt once your Facebook Business Verification has been completed.